Russian History

By: Daniel F. Ring
Assistant Professor
Phone: (248) 370-2498
E-mail: ring@oakland.edu
Ask A Librarian
Feel free to call, email, chat, or stop by the reference desk if you have questions.


See also: Russian Art; Russian Politics

ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Encyclopedia of Russian History. (Ref. DK 14 .E53 2004) 4 vols.

Encyclopedia of Russian History. (Ref. DK 36 .P39 1993) This book is less an encyclopedia and more of a dictionary.

The Blackwell Encyclopedia of the Russian Revolution. (Ref. DK 265 .B54 1994)

Encyclopedia of Eastern Europe. (Ref. DK 6 .E53 2000)

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Russia. (Ref. DK 14 .C35 1994)

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Russia and the Soviet Union. (Ref. DK 14 .M26) This book is getting dated but its editor and contributors make it a valuable book.

Slavonic Encyclopedia. (Ref. D 377 .S58 1969) Four volumes. Entries are scholarly and the scope is the entire Slavic world.

The Former Soviet Union's Diverse Peoples: A Reference Sourcebook


DICTIONARIES

Dictionary of Russian Historical Terms from the Eleventh Century to 1917. (Ref. DK 36 .P 78 1970)

Dictionary of the Russian Revolution. (Ref. DK 265 .D49 1989)

Country Information

Area Handbook

CIA Factbook

ATLASES

Cultural Atlas of Russia. (Ref. DK 32 .M62 1998)

Atlas of Russia and the Independent Republics. (Ref. G 2110 .B7 1994)

Atlas of Russian History. (Ref. G 2111 .S1 G52 1993)

Atlas of Russian History; Eleven Centuries of Changing Borders. (Ref. G 2111 .S1 C5 1970)

COMPANIONS (useful for dates, occupants of various offices and treaties; organized by broad topics like Internal politics or Nationalities)

Imperial Russia. (Ref. DK 113 .L66 2000)

Russia since 1914. (Ref. DK 266 .M 353 1998)

CHRONOLOGIES

Great Dates in Russian and Soviet History. (Ref. DK 36 .G74 1994)

 

INTERNET SITES

Meta Sites

Russian Studies: Sites to Link You to History, Politics, and Culture

Russian History Index

SEELRC Webliographies: Russian Webliography
Many sites here. See especially Russian History and Culture.

Documents and Sources

Russian Revolution

Documents in Russian History
Covers pre-Petrine Russia to Soviet Union.

Primary Sources
Varied but strong on legal texts.

Revelations from the Russian Archives
Covers the Soviet period.

Marxists.org Internet Archive
Covers writers, history and a subject archive.

Russian History Home Page Divided into three time periods, this site provides historical documents in English.

Discussion Sites

H-Russia

Maps and Gazetteers

The Russia Gazetteer

Russia

FEEFHS Map Room (http://www.feefhs.org/maps/indexmap.html)
Scroll down and you will find several links.

Russia and the Former Soviet Republics Maps

 

Chronologies

Chronology of Russia

Historical Pictures

The Empire That Was

Online Lectures

A History of Russia
By Michael Bora Petrovich. He was an eminent historian who taught at the University of Wisconsin-Madison for many years.

Resources

The Russian Revolution
You will find many other Revolution sites in another site Russian History. Also, click on Russian Revolution and you will get many more sites.

Russian History Websites
There are a variety of sites here: Anastasia; Empress Alexandra; St. Petersberg; Icons; Letters of Tsar Nicholas.

REES (Russian and East European Studies Virtual Library)
This site allows you to browse a subject such as Art in a culture such as Russian or Rusyn in a specific region by time period and it has a search engine too.

Introduction to Russian Culture
Some straight history sites on Kievan and Muscovite Rus and also cultural sites on religion, music, icons and language.

H-Russia
Discussion site; picks up forums and book reviews.

Historical Text Archive
This site is a collection of many different topics -cross disciplinary. There is also one for the Soviet Union.

Russian Studies: History This site is a collection of 114 resources

 

Archives and Guides

Slavic and European Studies
From Stanford University, this site lists print sources.

Archives in Russia
Covers guides and other finding aids, printed directories, research inquiries and family history.


Online Indexes

Historical Abstracts Indexes scholarly journal 1450-, excluding the US and Canada.

JSTOR Provides full text of back filed historical literature.

Project Muse Provides full text journal articles in the humanities.

STYLE MANUALS

Citing Electronic Information in History Papers

History: Documenting Sources

SUNDRY

Why Study History?

What are Primary Sources?



Created on 3/22/04 by Daniel F. Ring, / Last updated on 2/15/10 by mj
Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Sitemap - Hours - Location - Suggestions