Who has cited my work?

By: Kristine Condic &
Marilyn Jereau
Phone: (248) 370-2469
E-mail: salomon@oakland.edu
Ask A Librarian
Feel free to call, email, chat, or stop by the reference desk if you have questions.


A Guide to Cited Reference Searching

There are a number of places to explore when determining who has cited your (or anyone else’s) work. Perhaps this guide will make your search a bit easier.

These databases are available to Oakland University faculty, staff, and students that are currently enrolled. To access these databases from home, log in using your Grizzly ID.

For the purposes of this search, let’s say your name is John T. Smythe. Try many different databases to retrieve the best results.

Sciences

Social Sciences

Humanities


Web of Science – contains the sciences and social sciences collections.

  • Access - Click here OR from http://library.oakland.edu, select "Find Articles", then "Databases A to Z", then "Web of Science"
  • Content - over 6650 science journals and 1950 social science journals.
  • Date - 1980 to the present date
  • Click "Cited Reference Search" in the upper left hand corner.
  • Enter If your name is John T. Smythe, enter Smythe J* or Smythe JT under Cited Author and click on Search.
  • Select or mark your articles, and click "Finish Search" at the bottom of the screen on the left side, then you’ll see who has cited your work.
  • Click "Analyze Results" on the right hand side to see a bar chart of results.

 

ScienceDirect

  • Access -Click here OR from http://library.oakland.edu, click on "Find Articles," then "Databases A to Z," click on "S," then select "ScienceDirect"
  • Content - about 1700 science, technology, and medical journals from the Science Direct collection.
  • Click "Advanced Search". Select "Specific Author" from the dropdown box.
  • Type any variant of your name John T. Smythe including (j smythe) or (j. t. smythe) or (john smythe) or (john t. smythe).
  • Then click the SEARCH button.
  • Identify your articles.
  • Click on the article title.
  • Find CITED BY located at the right side of the screen and click to see who has cited your work.

 

CiteSeer.IST

  • Access - http://citeseer.ist.psu.edu/
  • Content - " CiteSeer is a scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science."
  • Click on "Citations" folder in the light blue box.
  • Enter J T Smythe (or name variations separated by or) and click "Search Citations". Click on "Restrict to Author" to further narrow search.
  • Click "Context" to see who has cited your work.

 

Scitation

  • Access - http://scitation.aip.org/
  • Content - "More than one million documents from scholarly journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and other special publications from prestigious scientific societies and technical publishers."
  • Click on the blue "Search" tab found at the top right below the word "Scitation". Select "Standard Search".
  • Enter J T Smythe (or name variations separated by or) and select "Cited Author" from the drop-down box.
  • Identify who has cited your work by clicking the title, then "References".

 

IEEE Xplore

  • Access - Click here OR from http://library.oakland.edu, go to “Find Articles” then "Databases A to Z, " click on "I", then select "IEEE Xplore".
  • Content - Full-text access to IEEE and IET journals, magazines, transactions, and annual conference proceedings. IEEE standards are also included.
  • Click "Advanced Search" found right under BASIC SEARCH.
  • Select "Author" from the first dropdown box.
  • Enter J T Smythe (or name variations separated by or) and click the "Run Search" button.
  • Identify your works, click the titles, then click AbstractPlus. Those who have cited your work are listed at the bottom.


Institute of Physics (IOP) Journals

  • Access – Click here OR from http://library.oakland.edu, go to “Find Articles” then “E-Journal Collections” at the lower right, scroll down to select “Institute of Physics Electronic Journals”.
  • Content – for citation purposes, only journals to which OU subscribes.
  • Click “Search” found in the dark blue bar at the top of the screen.
  • Search - If your name is John T. Smythe, search smythe and change Abstract/Title to Author.
  • Click the RUN SEARCH button.
  • Identify your articles.
  • Find “Citing Articles” next to “References” at the bottom of the item description.
  • Click "Citing Articles”.
  • Identify those who have cited your work.


MathSciNet

  • Access - Click here OR from http://library.oakland.edu, go to "Find Articles" then "Databases A to Z, " click on "M", then select "MathSciNet"
  • Select "Author Citations" from the tabs at the top of the screen, then enter Smythe, J (or enter last name and select from drop box list)
  • Select match from drop box if more than one author is found.
  • Results will display as a list of "Most Cited Publications." Click on "All" at the bottom to see complete list.
  • Click on any article listed and find the "Citations" box in the upper right to see who has cited that article.


CINAHL - a nursing database

  • Access - Click here OR from http://library.oakland.edu
  • Click "Find Articles," then "Databases A to Z," then the letter "C."
  • Select CINAHL Plus with Full Text from the list of databases.
  • Date - 1937 to the present date.
  • Contents - about 1200 nursing sources with searchable cited references dating back as far as 1994.
  • Click "More" on the blue bar across the top, then select "Cited References."
  • Enter Smythe J or Smythe JT after "Cited Author"
  • Browse results and identify your articles.
  • Click the box to the left of the article title, then click "Find Citing Articles"
  • Your cited references are displayed on the screen.

 

WilsonSelect

  • Access - Click here OR from http://library.oakland.edu
  • Click "Find Articles", then "Databases A to Z" and then click on "W."
  • Select WilsonSelectPlus.
  • Date - 1994 to the present date
  • Contents -about 2300 education, science, and humanities periodicals.
  • Enter "Smythe John" or "John Smythe" or " John T. Smythe" and change Keyword to Full text *OR* you could also enter Smythe as a Full text search if your name is unique.
  • Click on the title of an article, then click on the full-text.
  • Use the browser's Find feature to locate your name.

 

JSTOR

  • Access - Click here OR from http://library.oakland.edu
  • Click "Find Articles", then "Databases A to Z" and then click on "J."
  • Select JSTOR.
  • Contents - an extensive collection of back issues of scholarly journals.
  • Click "Advanced Search" from the main JSTOR screen.
  • Enter the name of the author of the article for which you want to find cited references. Enter John Smythe.
  • Change the dropdown box to "Author". Click Enter.
  • Click the title of an article of interest.
  • Find the two boxes to the left of the image of the first page of the article.
  • View the JSTOR box. This will let you know how many times this item has been cited by works within JSTOR. Click to view a list of those items.
  • View the Google Scholar box. Click "Items citing this item" to see who has cited this work according to Google Scholar.

 

Google Scholar

  • Access Google Scholar through Kresge Library to activate full-text links - go to http://library.oakland.edu
  • Click "Find Articles".
  • Select "Google Scholar"
  • Content - those who make their work available to Google search services.
  • Enter - the variant forms of your name: author: "J Smythe " or author: "JT Smythe " or also author: "John T Smythe "
  • Select your articles, note the phrase Cited by , and click there to find who has cited your work.
  • Note that GoogleScholar may not retrieve results that are completely accurate, so double-check to make sure the author has cited your work.

 

PsycInfo

  • Access - Click here OR from http://library.oakland.edu
  • Click "Find Articles" on black bar near top of screen.
  • Select "Databases A to Z".
  • Select P, select PsycINFO.
  • Date - 1887 to the present date; about 1987 for cited references.
  • Contents -over 1800 sources.
  • Enter Smythe or Smythe John* and select AUTHOR from the dropdown box to the right.
  • Find the articles of interest, and look next to the blue "GET IT" link.
  • Look for a link that indicates "Cited by 3". This tells you that three articles have cited this work. Click that link.
  • Browse through the list of references to see who has cited Smythe's article.

 

PsycARTICLES

  • Access - Click here OR from http://library.oakland.edu
  • Click "Find Articles" found on black bar near top of screen.
  • Select "Databases A to Z".
  • Select P, select PsycARTICLES.
  • Date - 1985 to the present date.
  • Contents -over 60 psychology journals.
  • Enter Smythe or Smythe John* and select AUTHOR from the dropdown box to the right.
  • Find the articles of interest, and look next to the blue "GET IT" link.
  • Look for a link that indicates "Cited by 3". This tells you that three articles have cited this work. Click that link.
  • Browse through the list of references to see who has cited Smythe's article.

 

ProQuest ABI/Inform

  • Access - Click here OR from http://library.oakland.edu
  • Find "Express Links" in the lower right of the screen.
  • Select ABI Inform from drop box menu.
  • Date - 1971 to the present date.
  • Contents -over 1600 sources.
  • Enter FOOT(smythe) and switch drop box at right to "Citation and document text," then click on "Search"
  • Scroll through footnotes in the full text for your name (or use browser's "Find" feature).

 

Sociological Abstracts

  • Access - Click here OR from http://library.oakland.edu
  • Click "Find Articles"
  • Click "Databases A to Z "
  • Find and click "Sociological Abstracts"
  • Contents include Sociological Abstracts (cited reference searching 2002 - present) and Social Services Abstracts (2004 - present).
  • Click the green tab up top "Advanced Search".
  • Enter Smythe
  • Change the last box in that row to Author.
  • Click Search.
  • Identify your articles.
  • Find Cited by next to View Record at the end of the summary.
  • Click Cited by to determine who has cited your work.

 

Arts and Humanities Citation Index

  • Access - Click here OR from http://library.oakland.edu
  • Click "Find Articles."
  • Click "Databases A to Z."
  • Select Arts & Humanities Search.
  • Date - 1980 to the present date
  • Contents - over 5500 sources.
  • Enter Smythe* and change Keyword to Cited Reference search *OR*
  • Browse by entering Smythe J* and change Keyword to Cited Reference Phrase, then press the browse button located to the right of box.
  • Click on the title of an article, then browse down to the cited reference list.
  • Go through the cited references to see if your name is there.

 


Created on 8/18/05 by Kris Condic and Marilyn Jereau, / Last updated on 2/15/10 by K. Condic
Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Sitemap - Hours - Location - Suggestions