British History

By: Daniel F. Ring
Assistant Professor
Phone: (248) 370-2498
E-mail: ring@oakland.edu
Ask A Librarian
Feel free to call, email, chat, or stop by the reference desk if you have questions.


ENCYCLOPEDIAS

The Arthurian Encyclopedia (Ref. DA 152.5 .A7 A78 1986)

The New Arthurian Encyclopedia (Ref. DA 152.5 .A7 N48 1991)

The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Anglo-Saxon England
(Ref. DA 152 .B58 1999)

Medieval England: An Encyclopedia (Ref. DA 129 .M43 1998)

Tudor England: An Encyclopedia (Ref. DA 315 .T753 2001)

Britain in the Hanoverian Age, 1714-1837: An Encyclopedia (Ref. DA 480 .B75 1997)

Encyclopedia of Romanticism: Culture in Britain, 1780s-1830s (Ref. DA 529 .E53 1992)

The Encyclopedia of the Victorian World (Ref. DA 550 .E53 1996)

Victorian Britain: An Encyclopedia (Ref. DA 550 .V53 1988)

Twentieth Century Britain: An Encyclopedia (Ref. DA 566 .T835 1995)

The 1890s: An Encyclopedia of British Literature, Art and Culture (Ref. DA 560 .A18 1993)

The Hutchinson Illustrated Encyclopedia of British History (Ref. DA 34 .H88 1999)

The Oxford Companion to British History (Ref. DA 34 .O93 2002)

The Oxford Companion to Twentieth-Century British Politics (Ref. DA 566.7 .O88 2002)

The Columbia Companion to British History
(Ref. DA 34 .H64 1997)

Encyclopedia of Contemporary British Culture. (Ref. DA 589.4 .E53 1999)

Europe, 1450-1789. (Ref. D 209 .E97 2004) This is a multi-volume set; a good place to explore a topic.

Reader's Guide to British History. (also available in print, Ref. DA 34 .R43 2003)


DICTIONARIES AND HISTORICAL DICTIONARIES

Historical Dictionary of the United Kingdom (Ref. DA 34 .P36 1997 - 2 vols.)

The Illustrated Dictionary of British History (Ref. DA 34. I44)

A New Dictionary of British History
(Ref. DA .S7 1964)

Historical Dictionary of the Elizabethan World (Ref. DA 357 .W34 1999)

Historical Dictionary of Stuart England, 1603-1689 (Ref. DA 375 .H57 1996)


COMPANIONS (companions cover a specific period and provide a variety of information, such as occupants of courts, chronologies--handy facts). THESE COMPANIONS ARE ALL PUBLISHED BY LONGMAN'S.

The Tudor Age (Ref. DA 315 .O33 1995)

The Stuart Age (Ref. DA 375 .W76 1997)

Britain in the Eighteenth Century (Ref. DA .G74 2000)

Britain in the Nineteenth Century (Ref. DA 530 .C8 1999)

Britain in the Era of the Two World Wars, 1914-1945 (Ref. DA 566.T54 1994)

Britain since 1945 (Ref. DA 592 .C628 2000)

The following book isn't a COMPANION and not published by LONGMAN'S, but it is similar:

English Historical Facts, 1485-1603 (Ref. DA 315 .P68 1977)

An additional companion:

Companion to British History

 

HANDBOOKS (There are two Handbooks, also published by Longman's. They are similar to Companions but have more statistical information.)

The Longman Handbook of Modern British History (Ref. DA 470 .C65 1988)

The Longman Handbook of Modern British History (Ref. DA 470 .C65 1996)


BIOGRAPHICAL

The following books consider about 300+ men and women for each period.

Lives of the Tudor Age (Ref. DA 317 .H65)

Lives of the Stuart Age (Ref. DA 377 .L35 1976)

Lives of the Georgian Age (Ref. DA 483 .A1 L35 1978)

British Political Leaders (Ref. DA 28.4 .B65 2001)
Covers 198 political leaders from 1730-current.

Biographical Dictionary of British Prime Ministers (Ref. DA 28.4 .B56 1998)
Coverage is from Walpole to Blair.

The Mammoth Book of British Kings & Queens (Ref. DA 28.1 .A85 1998)
Coverage is from pre-Roman times to present.

Queen Victoria: A Biographical Companion (Ref. DA 554 .R37 2003)
Covers persons, places, and events surrounding the life of Victoria.

Dictionary of National Biography (Ref. DA 28 .D47, v. 1-)
Authoritative articles on British people.

Who's Who in History (Ref. DA 28 .W 618)
Five volumes in length, covers the period 55 BC-1837.

Who's Who (Ref. DA 28 .W6 1900-)

Who Was Who (Ref. DA 28 .W65)

Facts about the British Prime Ministers (Ref. DA 28.4 .E54 1995)
Coverage is from Walpole-John Major.

The Kings and Queens of Britain (Ref. DA 28.1 .C36 2001)

 

INTERNET SOURCES

Meta Sites

WWW-VL: History of the United Kingdom
This the best meta site here.

American and British History Research Links
This is a very fine site strong on American history. Scroll down and you will find many English texts from the Sixteenth-Nineteenth centuries.

Online Indexes

Historical Abstracts
Indexes scholarly journal 1450-current, excluding the US and Canada.

JSTOR
Provides full text of back-filed historical literature.

Project Muse
Provides full text journal articles in the humanities.


Encyclopedias

Encyclopaedia of British History 1500-1980

British History
Essays on a variety of topics.

Medieval England
Covers personalities, events and topics.


Dictionaries

The Victorian Dictionary


Primary Sources and Documents

History of the United Kingdom: Primary Documents

Sources of British History

European History Sources
Primarily the continent but some British sources on World War I.

British History Online

World War I Document Archive

British Pathe Film Archive

Internet Modern History Sourcebook

House of Commons Home Page

Victorian Women Writers Project
Includes transcriptions of women writers of the nineteenth century.


Maps

National Archives
Thousands of maps on hundreds of subjects.

Historical Maps

Timelines

Timelines of British History


Value of Money

Current Value of Old Money
Many sites providing historical information on wages, costs and cost of living.


Biographical

Monarchs

Official Web Site of the British Monarchy


Resources

Victoria Research Web
Covers archives, libraries, bibliographies and discussion groups.

Victorian Studies on the Web
Covers recent books, articles and announcements.

The Victorian Web
Covers all areas of knowledge, such as religion, science, technology, philosophy and history. Many links to original sources.

Mass-Observation Archive
Specializes about everyday life in Britain from 1937- early 1950's.

British and Irish History
There is a lot here; everything from documents, archives, pamphlet collections and topics like the Battle of Britain and the Piltdown Plot.

H-Albion
Discussion forum for British and Irish history.

Historical Text Archive
Not really historical texts but a collection of almost 300 sites on many topics.

Britain's Age of Empire Index
This is good for biography, including prime ministers, church history, original texts and sources, to name a few.

Medieval English Towns

Sundry

What Are Primary Sources?

Why Study History?

Style Manuals

Citing Electronic Information in History Papers

History: Documenting Sources

 

 


Created on 2/5/04 by Daniel F. Ring, / Last updated on 2/15/10 by mj
Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Sitemap - Hours - Location - Suggestions